Welcome

My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.

I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.

Sunday, August 14, 2016

8/13/16 - Salt Creek

I had been told that there were some bunkers that were under repair at Salt Creek, which prompted me to send a summary to the club on Rule 25 - Abnormal Ground Conditions.

A ball in Ground Under Repair (GUR) is a free drop, but if you are in GUR in a bunker, you must drop in the bunker.  Alternatively, you can take a one stroke penalty and drop outside the bunker, on a line between the flag and the position of your ball in the bunker.

If the entire bunker is under repair, then you get the free drop outside the bunker (one club length from the nearest point of relief, no closer to the hole).

The course was nice enough to put a card in each cart summarizing your options.

For some bunkers they had a red drop area painted by the bunker.  I had never heard of that, but I guess it's a local rule for the course, under these conditions.

I never hit into a bunker that was under repair.  I did not play particularly well.

Saturday, August 6, 2016

8/6/16 - Balboa

So this was an interesting one...

On the first tee, one player hit his ball way left, over some trees and onto the 18th hole.  I'm not sure if he announced that was hitting a provisional or not, but he hit another ball, landing in the fairway.  My tee shot also went left, but not as far as his.  From my ball, I saw another ball, which could have been his first one.  It was considerably further than his second ball.  I was going to tell him about it, but he was about to hit his next (fourth) shot.  It would have been rude for me to interrupt him about to hit the ball.

Per rule 27-2b, the provisional ball becomes the ball in play once he reaches the point where the original ball is likely to be.  But since his first drive was longer, he hadn't reached that point.  So I told him about the ball after his shot.  I'm pretty certain that even after playing a second shot with his provisional ball, he could have gone to his original ball and legitimately played a second shot per decision 27-2b/3.

He didn't bother.  He never identified the ball that I had found.  So I think he was fine playing his fourth stroke from the fairway and abandoning the first ball.  That ball was abandoned when he played the next shot with his (formerly) provisional.  That shot was a chip from just off the green.  He then two-putted for what I would say was a 7.  I have no idea what he wrote down.



Monday, August 1, 2016

7/31/16 - PGA Championship

I've never been a fan of "preferred lies," or as my club calls it, "lift, clean, and cheat."  But they did what they thought was best.

I'm not sure I saw any footage of a pro cleaning his ball in the fairway.  Were they not doing it very much, or was the telecast trying to downplay it?