Welcome

My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.

I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.

Saturday, September 10, 2016

9/10/16 - Carlton Oaks

We had our monthly tournament at Carlton Oaks today.  One guy in our foursome hit a ball into the bank above a sand trap, and it came to rest against a rake on the bank.  It was clear that moving the rake would cause the ball to roll into the trap.

I consulted with our handicap chairman, who was in the group behind us, and he gave the correct interpretation.  Rule 24-1a says that a movable obstruction may be moved, and if moving the obstruction causes the ball to move, then the ball must be placed in the original position, and there is no penalty.