Welcome

My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.

I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.

Saturday, September 10, 2016

9/10/16 - Carlton Oaks

We had our monthly tournament at Carlton Oaks today.  One guy in our foursome hit a ball into the bank above a sand trap, and it came to rest against a rake on the bank.  It was clear that moving the rake would cause the ball to roll into the trap.

I consulted with our handicap chairman, who was in the group behind us, and he gave the correct interpretation.  Rule 24-1a says that a movable obstruction may be moved, and if moving the obstruction causes the ball to move, then the ball must be placed in the original position, and there is no penalty.

No comments:

Post a Comment