My ball crossed the line of a lateral hazard next to a bunker. The strip of grass between the bunker and the lateral hazard was just a couple of feet wide, and sloped towards the bunker.
I was aware of Rule 20-2-c(i), which says that if your dropped ball rolls into a hazard, then you re-drop. Rule 20-2-c(ii) covers the case where you're dropping in a hazard, and the ball rolls out of the hazard (also re-drop).
Since I was racing the sunset, I didn't bother to drop (twice) and then retrieve the ball from the bunker, which was the obvious outcome of dropping it.
I was not aware of Decision 20-2c/3. Decision 20-2c/3 states that you can't take this shortcut. You have to go through the process of dropping twice before placing.
Oops.
Welcome
My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.
I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.
Sunday, April 30, 2017
Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Sand and loose soil
Our club handicap shared this. I was not aware. Sand and loose soil are not impediments, and can only be removed on the putting green.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SGSwSCF7v24&feature=youtu.be
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SGSwSCF7v24&feature=youtu.be
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)