Welcome

My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.

I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.

Sunday, April 30, 2017

4/29/17 - The Crossings at Carlsbad

My ball crossed the line of a lateral hazard next to a bunker.  The strip of grass between the bunker and the lateral hazard was just a couple of feet wide, and sloped towards the bunker.

I was aware of Rule 20-2-c(i), which says that if your dropped ball rolls into a hazard, then you re-drop.  Rule 20-2-c(ii) covers the case where you're dropping in a hazard, and the ball rolls out of the hazard (also re-drop).

Since I was racing the sunset, I didn't bother to drop (twice) and then retrieve the ball from the bunker, which was the obvious outcome of dropping it.

I was not aware of Decision 20-2c/3.  Decision 20-2c/3 states that you can't take this shortcut.  You have to go through the process of dropping twice before placing.

Oops.


No comments:

Post a Comment