Number 4 at Rancho Bernardo Inn is a long-ish par 3 with a water hazard between the tee and the green. On the green-side of the water hazard, left is out of bounds. There is a drop zone on the green-side of the water for balls hit into the hazard.
So can you use the drop zone for a ball hit over the water and out of bounds?
I say no. A drop zone is always a local rule. The best information I could find on that specific local rule was here:
RBI Men's Golf Club By-Laws
The way I read it, the drop zone is for balls hit into the hazard. In addition, it's optional. I supposed the local rule could be written such that it was mandatory, but I don't believe that is very common.
The same should apply to a lost ball that is not believed to have gone into the water.
Out of bounds penalty is stroke and distance, so the player must re-tee and hit his or her third shot from the tee.
Am I right?
No comments:
Post a Comment