Welcome

My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.

I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.

Sunday, November 26, 2017

11/26/17 - Balboa

I've played Balboa when it's damp before, but I've never seen standing water on a putting green.  Until this morning.  There was a substantial puddle on the first green.

Rule 25 (abnormal ground conditions) covers casual water.  The water must be visible before you take your stance (this was).  Through the green (ie before you get to the green), you get relief if the casual water impacts your swing or stance (not your line).  It's a free drop within one club length of the nearest point of relief, no closer to the hole

On the green, you get relief if the casual water impedes your swing or stance, or if it is in the line of your putt.  On the green, you must place the ball at the nearest point of relief, no closer to the hole.  Note that this could be off the green.

Note that this means if you are in the fringe, and there is casual water in your line, you do not get relief.

No comments:

Post a Comment