I attended The Farmers Insurance Open yesterday, and I almost saw a spectator step on a ball in play. It didn't happen, but it could have. So what's the ruling?
The best I could figure, that would be a ball at rest moved by an outside agency (Rule 18-1). But it gets interesting from there. According to Rule 18-1, the ball must be replaced. I don't think you could get the ball to hover above the hole created by stepping on it, but Rule 18-1, Note 2 refers to rule 20-3b in the scenario that the original lie has been altered. Rule 20-3b says that you must place the ball in the nearest lie most similar to the original lie that is not more than one club-length from the original lie, and not closer to the hole.
My first thought was that you should drop the ball in accordance with Rule 25-2 (Embedded Ball), but I think placing the ball is more correct in this scenario.
No comments:
Post a Comment