Welcome

My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.

I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.

Monday, August 5, 2019

8/4/2019 - The Crossings at Carlsbad

I thought I had blogged about this before, but I can't find it, so I guess I only considered writing about it, but didn't...

There are areas at The Crossings where a penalty area is adjacent to a bunker (see below).  It seems unfortunate to have to take relief from a penalty area into a bunker.  But that's the rule.

Relief from a penalty area is covered by Rule #17 in the 2019 rules.  The rule explicitly says that relief may be in any area of the course except the same penalty area.




So you have to drop in the bunker.

If two driver-lengths will get you across the bunker, then you can drop outside the bunker.  That was not the case with this particular bunker.

Other options would include going back to where you played the previous shot from, or trying to drop in the little skinny are of grass between the penalty area and the bunker.  But then you wouldn't really have a stance.


No comments:

Post a Comment