I knew that if your ball was on the green and another ball hit it, then you put your ball back, and the other player plays their ball as it lies. I wasn't sure what the rule was when your ball is in the fairway, so I looked it up.
This is covered by Rule 9.6 - Ball moved by outside influence. The rule is the same as if it were on the green. You replace your ball, they play theirs as it lies.
If both balls are on the green when the stroke is played, then it's a two stroke penalty on the person who hit the putt. So if another player's ball is anywhere near the line of your putt, then you should ask them to mark it.
Our club has an informal rule that if you can roll your putt over another players' mark and make the putt, then you get to keep their mark. I have never seen it happen.
Welcome
My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.
I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.
Sunday, December 22, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
12/9/2019 - The Golf Club at Terra Lago (South Course)
I played (poorly) in the SCGA Tournament of Club Champions. I started out with a 12, but it got better from there.
I had two interesting rules conversations. The first with with an SCGA rules official while we were waiting on a tee box. I referred to a hole we had already played (#17). There was a bunker behind the green, and it just kind of faded into a waste area. I asked the rules official what the demarcation between the bunker and the waste area was. He answered honestly - He wasn't sure, but he would find out. When I turned in my scorecard, they had an answer for me.... Sort of. He said that it was not clearly marked, and that if they had called for a ruling, they would have ruled based on the area of the bunker that had been groomed. I thought that was interesting.
The other was a conversation regarding the "drive of shame" (driving back to the tee box after not finding your drive, and not hitting a provisional). I mentioned that our group had our group had to do it two or three times. Another participant whom I was eating lunch with indicated that they had used the Local Rule on the card referencing Desert Area Options. According to the scorecard, you could either play the ball as it lies, or take a one stroke penalty and go to the fairway. But that means that you found the ball. I think that group mis-applied the local rule. Ooops...
I had two interesting rules conversations. The first with with an SCGA rules official while we were waiting on a tee box. I referred to a hole we had already played (#17). There was a bunker behind the green, and it just kind of faded into a waste area. I asked the rules official what the demarcation between the bunker and the waste area was. He answered honestly - He wasn't sure, but he would find out. When I turned in my scorecard, they had an answer for me.... Sort of. He said that it was not clearly marked, and that if they had called for a ruling, they would have ruled based on the area of the bunker that had been groomed. I thought that was interesting.
The other was a conversation regarding the "drive of shame" (driving back to the tee box after not finding your drive, and not hitting a provisional). I mentioned that our group had our group had to do it two or three times. Another participant whom I was eating lunch with indicated that they had used the Local Rule on the card referencing Desert Area Options. According to the scorecard, you could either play the ball as it lies, or take a one stroke penalty and go to the fairway. But that means that you found the ball. I think that group mis-applied the local rule. Ooops...
Sunday, December 1, 2019
12/1/2019 - Encinitas Ranch
We have had a ton of rain lately, so I knew that I might have an embedded ball at some point during the round. The 2019 rules grant relief from an embedded ball even in the rough (but not in a bunker or penalty area). This is all covered in Rule 16.3.
But once it happened, I couldn't remember whether or not I am allowed to clean the ball. I know you clean a ball embedded on the green (this is specifically stated in the rule). But it doesn't say whether or not you can clean the ball when it is embedded in the general area. General area means anywhere except in a penalty area, bunker, out of bounds, or on the teeing ground. So pretty much the rest of the golf course.
Cleaning is covered by Rule 14.1, which says you can clean the ball any time your are taking legitimate relief. The only times you can lift the ball and not clean it are when checking to see if it is damaged, when identifying your ball, when it interferes with someone else's stroke, or when checking to see if the ball is in an area where relief is allowed. I'm not sure when that last one would come up, but there you have it...
Good to know!
But once it happened, I couldn't remember whether or not I am allowed to clean the ball. I know you clean a ball embedded on the green (this is specifically stated in the rule). But it doesn't say whether or not you can clean the ball when it is embedded in the general area. General area means anywhere except in a penalty area, bunker, out of bounds, or on the teeing ground. So pretty much the rest of the golf course.
Cleaning is covered by Rule 14.1, which says you can clean the ball any time your are taking legitimate relief. The only times you can lift the ball and not clean it are when checking to see if it is damaged, when identifying your ball, when it interferes with someone else's stroke, or when checking to see if the ball is in an area where relief is allowed. I'm not sure when that last one would come up, but there you have it...
Good to know!
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)