Welcome

My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.

I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.

Sunday, December 22, 2019

12/22/2019 - The Crossings at Carlsbad

I knew that if your ball was on the green and another ball hit it, then you put your ball back, and the other player plays their ball as it lies.  I wasn't sure what the rule was when your ball is in the fairway, so I looked it up.

This is covered by Rule 9.6 - Ball moved by outside influence.  The rule is the same as if it were on the green.  You replace your ball, they play theirs as it lies.

If both balls are on the green when the stroke is played, then it's a two stroke penalty on the person who hit the putt.  So if another player's ball is anywhere near the line of your putt, then you should ask them to mark it.

Our club has an informal rule that if you can roll your putt over another players' mark and make the putt, then you get to keep their mark.  I have never seen it happen.

No comments:

Post a Comment