Welcome

My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.

I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.

Saturday, March 14, 2020

3/14/2020 - Steele Canyon

I've been trying a new putting technique based on a video I saw with Phil Mickelson.  He said that take the putter back 25%, and then follow through 75% (ie 3 times as far forward as you took the putter back.

I think it's been working reasonably well, but today it resulted in a double-contact on a putt.  I knew that double-contact is no longer a penalty on "regular" shots, but is it a penalty on the putting green?

If it's not intentional (it wasn't), then there's no penalty.

Sunday, March 8, 2020

3/8/2020 - The Crossings at Carlsbad

I covered a while back whether or not you can putt with the flagstick in one hand (you can).

One member of our foursome today putted with a wedge under her arm.  Is this legal?

As far as I can tell it is.  Rule 4.3 covers the usage of equipment, and it's only a penalty if you use a club in a "abnormal way."  From the text of the rule, "abnormal way" means "a way that is fundamentally different than its intended use and is not normally recognized as part of playing the game.  I would say that she wasn't really even using the club for any purpose.

I read elsewhere that this would include using a second club for balance when taking a stroke.  That makes sense.  I've never seen that (of course I had never seen someone putt with a club under their arm either.


3/7/2020 - Steele Canyon

I often hear people that there's a 2-putt max rule in effect on punched greens.  Sorry, no.

The definition of Ground Under Repair explicitly does not include aeration holes.

Rule #13 (Putting Greens) explicitly lists aeration holes as not "damage" that can be repaired.

In fact, without a local rule in place, you don't even get relief when your ball is in an aeration hole.  Model Local Rule E-4 allows you to take a ball out of an aeration hole on the green, but it does not give relief from aeration holes in the line of your putt.