Welcome

My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.

I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.

Sunday, March 8, 2020

3/8/2020 - The Crossings at Carlsbad

I covered a while back whether or not you can putt with the flagstick in one hand (you can).

One member of our foursome today putted with a wedge under her arm.  Is this legal?

As far as I can tell it is.  Rule 4.3 covers the usage of equipment, and it's only a penalty if you use a club in a "abnormal way."  From the text of the rule, "abnormal way" means "a way that is fundamentally different than its intended use and is not normally recognized as part of playing the game.  I would say that she wasn't really even using the club for any purpose.

I read elsewhere that this would include using a second club for balance when taking a stroke.  That makes sense.  I've never seen that (of course I had never seen someone putt with a club under their arm either.


No comments:

Post a Comment