Welcome

My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.

I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.

Sunday, June 28, 2020

6/28/2020 - Balboa 18

I've used the burrowing animal relief rule a few times, but rarely.  Today I ended up in a hole that could have come from a gopher, snake, or some other unidentified critter.  But it was in a bunker, which I have never had happen.  I was pretty sure that I get relief within the bunker, but I checked when I got home to make sure.  Rule 16 covers Relief from Abnormal Course Conditions (Including Immovable Obstructions), Dangerous Animal Condition, Embedded Ball.

Free relief is granted, one club length from the nearest point of relief in the bunker.  I got out and made the putt, unfortunately, I was three strokes into the bunker.

I find it amusing that the title of the rule includes "Dangerous Animal Condition."  This is when your ball comes to rake near a rattlesnake.  A rattlesnake hole is just an abnormal course condition.

No comments:

Post a Comment