Welcome

My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.

I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.

Sunday, August 16, 2020

8/16/2020 - Bonita Golf Course

 There were a lot of areas marked as Ground Under Repair at Bonita today.  No one was certain if that meant that you must take relief, or if it was optional.  So I looked it up.

Ground Under Repair (GUR) is an Abnormal Course Condition (rule #16).  It is free relieve to the nearest point of complete relief, but it is optional.  You may play the ball as it lies.

But can you clean it?  Per rule 14.1c, yes, you can clean the ball whenever you take relief, except when:

  • you are checking to see if the ball is damaged.
     
  • you are trying to identify the ball
     
  • you are marking it for another player and your ball is not on the green
     
  • you are checking to see if you are allowed relief

Some courses mark flower beds and the like as GUR, with a sign indicating that you must take relief.  I assume this is a local rule to protect their flowers.

No comments:

Post a Comment