Welcome

My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.

I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.

Sunday, October 18, 2020

10/18/2020 - Balboa 9

There are several things that I often refer to as "the dumbest rule in golf."  Most often I'm referring to when you move your mark to accommodate someone else's putt, and then forget to move it back.  This is a violation of rule 13.1-d, and it's a two stroke penalty.  Very rarely would you actually benefit from it.  And the other player usually indicates which way you should move it.  I try to remind myself when I move my mark by placing it upside-down.

The other "dumbest rule in golf" actually makes some sense for high level play.  But not so much for casual rounds, or even (in my opinion) "regular" club tournaments.  Rule 10.2 says that you cannot give advice, or ask anyone for advice.  This would include giving yardage, club selection, or even commenting on the wind.  Our club does not enforce this rule very stringently, and I'll bet your club doesn't either.

Today I am referring to the rule that you can't post a solo round.  I played with three strangers yesterday, and posted my score when I was done.  The other players have no idea what I shot, what I posted, or even that I posted the round at all.  So why am I not allowed to post a round that I play solo?  When I'm counted on to call my own penalties, it makes no sense that I can't post a score from a solo round.

I had my first eagle today, and it totally doesn't count.  I was playing solo behind a foursome, so I was playing two balls.  I drove the green on the par four 6th and made the putt.  With my second ball.  At least I got a birdie with the first ball.



Saturday, October 17, 2020

10/17/2020 - Boulder Oaks

I'm not sure I had ever had this happen before, but as I was putting, I noticed my ball starting to roll a tiny, TINY bit just before I hit it.  I recall that the new (2019) rules don't penalize you if your ball accidentally moves, but the wording of the rules is a little confusing, so I have pasted the relevant rule below (13.1 d).

My interpretation is that what happened falls under the Exception portion of the rule.  I had started the stroke, and the stroke was made.  So no penalty.

But I also think that it was natural forces that moved the ball.  And to further complicate things, I don't recall if I had marked my ball or not.  So if I hadn't marked my ball, then I'm fine.  But if I had, then it would be two strokes for playing the ball from the wrong spot.  But I think the fact that I played the stroke puts me in the exception category above.  The two stroke penalty would come in if I had marked the ball, didn't complete the stroke, and then didn't replace the ball back to it's original position.  I think.

Weird.

d. When Your Ball or Ball-Marker Moves on Putting Green

There is no penalty if you, your opponent or another player in stroke play accidentally move your ball or ball-marker on the putting green.

You must replace your ball on its original spot (which if not known must be estimated) or place a ball-marker to mark that original spot.

Exception – Your Ball Must Be Played as It Lies When It Begins to Move During Your Backswing or Stroke and the Stroke Is Made.

If natural forces cause your ball on the putting green to move, where you must play from next depends on whether your ball had already been lifted and replaced on its original spot:

  • Ball already lifted and replaced – Your ball must be replaced on its original spot (which if not known must be estimated).

  • Ball not already lifted and replaced – The ball must be played from its new spot.

Saturday, October 10, 2020

10/10/2020 - Bonita

 It never came into play, but I noticed a few ant hills on the practice green, and then on the regular greens.  What's the rule?

The definition of "Loose impediment" explicitly includes ant hills.  So you can sweep away any loose dirt and tap down the mound so that it is flat if it's in the line of your putt (or chip).  Insects are also considered loose impediments, so you are free to remove any ants that come out and interfere with your line.

Rule 16-2 covers a "Dangerous Animal Condition."  That's for snakes and alligators, and I don't think it would apply here.  But the rule does explicitly include fire ants.  If they were fire ants, then the area immediately around them would be treated as ground under repair, so you would get free relief within one club of the nearest point of relief, no closer to the hole.