Welcome

My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.

I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.

Saturday, October 17, 2020

10/17/2020 - Boulder Oaks

I'm not sure I had ever had this happen before, but as I was putting, I noticed my ball starting to roll a tiny, TINY bit just before I hit it.  I recall that the new (2019) rules don't penalize you if your ball accidentally moves, but the wording of the rules is a little confusing, so I have pasted the relevant rule below (13.1 d).

My interpretation is that what happened falls under the Exception portion of the rule.  I had started the stroke, and the stroke was made.  So no penalty.

But I also think that it was natural forces that moved the ball.  And to further complicate things, I don't recall if I had marked my ball or not.  So if I hadn't marked my ball, then I'm fine.  But if I had, then it would be two strokes for playing the ball from the wrong spot.  But I think the fact that I played the stroke puts me in the exception category above.  The two stroke penalty would come in if I had marked the ball, didn't complete the stroke, and then didn't replace the ball back to it's original position.  I think.

Weird.

d. When Your Ball or Ball-Marker Moves on Putting Green

There is no penalty if you, your opponent or another player in stroke play accidentally move your ball or ball-marker on the putting green.

You must replace your ball on its original spot (which if not known must be estimated) or place a ball-marker to mark that original spot.

Exception – Your Ball Must Be Played as It Lies When It Begins to Move During Your Backswing or Stroke and the Stroke Is Made.

If natural forces cause your ball on the putting green to move, where you must play from next depends on whether your ball had already been lifted and replaced on its original spot:

  • Ball already lifted and replaced – Your ball must be replaced on its original spot (which if not known must be estimated).

  • Ball not already lifted and replaced – The ball must be played from its new spot.

No comments:

Post a Comment