Welcome

My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.

I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.

Sunday, March 21, 2021

3/21/2021 - Coronado

Is the Pacific Ocean out of bounds, or a water hazard?  Specifically, right of #18 (though it's in play on other holes as well).  I didn't see any stakes (red or white), so I'm going to have to guess that it's out of bounds.  So stroke-and-distance.  The guy in our foursome who hit it into the ocean played it as OB.

The scorecard doesn't say one way or another.  I should have asked.

We've all seen the pros play off of the beach left of #18 at Pebble Beach.  So that means that the beach is in bounds, at least.

Update!
Our handicap chair pointed out this relevant definition of a Penalty Area (partial):
Any body of water on the course (whether or not marked by the Committee), including a sea, lake, pond, river, ditch, surface drainage ditch or other open watercourse (even if not containing water)

So the question still remains - Is the ocean on the course?

No comments:

Post a Comment