Welcome

My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.

I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.

Monday, July 5, 2021

7/5/2021 - Rancho Maria

I was playing a Titleist with two red bars on it.  I'm not sure what model of ball, something I found presumably.  I hit it into the trees.

When I marked it on the green after hitting out of the trees, I noticed that it was now a Pinnacle with three red stripes on it.  Ooops...

Rule 6.3c says that the penalty for playing the wrong ball is the general penalty (two strokes).  But (and it's a big but), you have to correct the error before teeing off on the next hole, or it's a DQ.  Correcting the error means finishing the hole with the correct ball.

The strokes I played with the wrong ball don't count.  It's as if they never happened.

So the right thing to do would have been to go back to where I played my third shot from.  I didn't see any other ball around, so I would have had to play my ball as a lost ball.  So two strokes for the lost ball, two strokes for the wrong ball, and I'm laying 6, hitting 7 from ~125 yards out.

In my opinion, that's not really an option when there are groups playing behind you.

So I took a 9 (that's the max score for my club) and went on to the next hole.  Perhaps I shouldn't have posted the score, but I did.


No comments:

Post a Comment