Welcome

My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.

I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.

Tuesday, March 29, 2022

3/27/2022 - Marine Memorial

It seems to be a common misconception that you get relief from a man-made object in your line of play.  You do not.

I missed the fairway left, and there was a sprinkler control box blocking my path back to the fairway.  But it was not impeding my stance or my swing.  So no relief.

You do get relief from your line of play on the green. But anywhere else, it's only stance and swing.

You often hear of relief from a Temporary Immovable Obstruction on TV.  That's different.  That's a man-made object that isn't usually there (like the grandstands).  The only time I've ever used that rule was when they were setting up the grandstands at Torrey Pines prior to the FIO.

 

No comments:

Post a Comment