I was in the desert to play in the SCGA TOCC, and a member of our club recommended Desert Falls Country Club. It was a great suggestion. I really enjoyed the course. Except that the greens were much slower than Indian Wells Resort, where I played a practice round the day before, and the TOCC the following day. I blame that for my poor showing (not really).
On a long par 3 (#7) I had a terribly awkward stance in a bunker, and I was trying to figure out how I was going to play the shot. In the course of doing so, I grounded my club in the bunker. I knew it was a penalty, but I didn't know what the penalty was. Per Rule 12.2-b, it's the general penalty (2 strokes), but it's not as cut and dried as I expected.
You can't deliberately touch the sand with your hand, club, or any other object in order to test the condition of the sand. It was certainly not deliberate. You can't touch the sand at all with your club "in the area right in front of or right behind your ball" That's a bit of a gray area. It was near the ball, but without knowing this exact rule, I wasn't really paying attention to how close to the ball it was, or whether it was in front of, or behind the ball. Or beside, which would be legal, as long as it wasn't my backswing, or a practice swing.
Interesting....
No comments:
Post a Comment