Am I a rules nazi? Or just an asshole? A guy in our foursome missed a tap-in, and I counted the stroke, and the ensuing tap-in. It was a tournament. You have to hole out on every hole. We're an SCGA sanctioned club. What would you do?
And then another member of our foursome lost his putter. He asked if he could borrow a putter. I said no, that would be a penalty. You have to putt with a wedge, or some other club. He was not thrilled by this.
So when we got to the green, I putted out and left the green before he was putting. If I don't see him borrow the putter, I'm not going to give him the penalty strokes. I thought I was being generous. He gave me his score on the next tee, emphasizing the penalty strokes. So I wrote down what he told me. If he hadn't mentioned the penalty strokes, I wouldn't have written them down.
Reading the rule more thoroughly (Rule #4.1b), there is a maximum of four penalty strokes for the round. But if the player continues to knowingly violate the rule after the first instance, then it's a disqualification.
So am I an asshole?
No comments:
Post a Comment