Welcome

My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.

I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.

Thursday, December 7, 2023

12/7/2023 - Cottonwood (Ivanhoe)

Now that Cottonwood only has one course, I'm not sure why they keep the Ivanhoe course as part of the name, but I guess they still do.

Usually when your ball goes into a lateral hazard, at least you don't lose all of the distance from your previous shot.  Unless you hit a tree, and it shoots across another fairway into the penalty area.  Where it crossed the margin of the hazard was at least 75 yards further from the hole than where I had just played from.

So I can play my next shot from the same place, right?

Yes (thankfully).

Rule 17.1-d (1) indicates that you can take stroke and distance when you hit into a penalty area.  So my second shot went off the tree into the penalty area, so I dropped #3 in the same spot, and then hit my fourth up the fairway.  It was a bad hole.

I also had a gopher hole in my stance on one hole.  My ball was not impacted by it, but my stance was.  Per Rule #16.1-a (1) you get relief for your stance in an abnormal course condition.


No comments:

Post a Comment