I found a tee on the golf course (pic below), and I think it's an illegal tee. It's hard to tell, but it's not round. The top is oval-shaped.
The rules specify that a tee must not be "designed or manufactured in a way that could indicate line of play." (emphasis added)
You could clearly point the tee along the line of play, but once you put a ball on it, I don't think you could tell. But I can't see how any tee design could indicate line of play once the ball is placed. So I'm going to go with technically illegal.
So this would be a violation of Rule #4.3, which is two strokes for the first offense, and then DQ if you do it again. If anyone tried to call me on this, I would make the argument that I can't use it for alignment with a ball on the tee. But that fact seems to be inherent in a tee, so I think the committee would tell me that I was wrong.
Bay Hill has tees with a log on top (Arnie's umbrella). That could conceivably be used for alignment (before you put a ball on it). I don't see anyone having a problem with that.
No comments:
Post a Comment