This came up in discussing the PNC Championship, which is being played in Orlando this weekend. They mention on the telecast that the partners are allowed to stand behind them when they are putting to see the line. Normally this would be a violation for a caddie (Rule #10.2). In a team format, it is normally a violation of Rule #22.6 (Foursomes) or Rule #23.8 (Four Ball).
Without a local rule, it seems like this would be an issue in any scramble. But I guess no one cares about the rules in a scramble.
People often think that you're not allowed on the line of your opponents putt. It's bad etiquette, but it does not violate the rules of golf. If the player asked you to move and you refused, I think you would then be in violation of Rule #1.2 - "All players are expected to play in the spirit of the game..."
No comments:
Post a Comment