Welcome

My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.

I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.

Friday, September 12, 2025

9/12/2025 - Oaks North

My approach shot was embedded just short of the green.  I know I get free relief, but I always forget, am I dropping or placing?  And do I get a club length?

Rule #16.3 covers ball embedded in the general area.  You get free relief within a club length, and you have to drop the ball.

Relief on the putting green is slightly different.  You can place the ball, and you do not get a club length. 

Note that you do not get embedded ball relief in a bunker, or in a penalty area.


No comments:

Post a Comment