I love the practice hole at Admiral Baker. For $20 per hour, it is so much better than a driving range. You're hitting off of real grass, and you can see how your ball reacts on a real green, and get a real lie in the practice bunker.
Unfortunately, it's situated between the fifth and six holes on the south course, and it's a right miss off of the tee for either one. I was interrupted a couple of times by folks playing those holes.
So what happens if your tee shot (or any shot) ends up on the practice hole?
If it's on the practice green, then it's considered a wrong green, and you must take free relief. This is explicitly included in the definition of wrong green. Per Rule #13.1f, you must take relief off of the green. Usually playing the ball as it lies is an option, but not in this case.
As far as I can tell, the rest of the practice hole is fair game to play your ball as it lies. This would include the practice bunker, which I have done off of the #5 tee. It's not where you want to be.
A lot of courses mark the driving range as OB, and I can imagine a course doing that with a practice hole or practice area. The short game practice area at Mt. Woodson is very much in play off of the #7 tee.
Do any other courses have a practice hole?
No comments:
Post a Comment