I played TP South yesterday. It was my worst round in a while, but I have to remind myself that it's a tough course (slope 133 from the white).
Not much came up with regards to the rules. At one point, someone else marked my ball, which was in someone's line. I was walking while everyone else was riding. I'm fine with that in casual play, to speed up the game, but I was wondering if it was a violation. As far as I can tell, this would be a violation of rule 20-1. The player's partner can mark the ball, or "another person authorized by the player." That would cover the caddie, but probably not another player.
As I said, it helped pace of play, and I'm fine with it.
While researching this, I found the decision below interesting. This also happened during the round.
20-1/6.5
Ball-Marker pressed down by opponent
There is no penalty if the marker does not move.
There is no penalty if the opponent was authorized in this action.
If the opponent was not authorized, and the marker moves, then there is a one stroke penalty on the opponent.
Note to anyone interested in playing TP South - The work is done on the fourth tee, so it's back to being a beast of a par 4.
I disagree, "another person" must be taken at face value, anyone can mark your ball as long as you have authorized them to do so.
ReplyDeleteThis situation happened to me a few weeks ago. Our group started out as a threesome but one guy wasn't feeling well and left at the turn. The guy I was playing with was a decent player, but he was SLOW. I mean rip your eyes out slow. On one par four I was on the green in reg and he hit maybe 10 yards short. So I walk up to the the edge of the green and I see him approaching his ball but he only had a wedge in his hand. He was probably 30-40 yards from the cart. He chips up close to my line and then he starts the walk of the dinosaurs back to his cart to retrieve his putter.
ReplyDeleteI had a right to left put on a moderately sloping green, maybe a 20 footer for birdie, and I guessed he was a good eight inches off my projected line six or seven feet from the hole. I figured what the hell, I won't be close. I didn't think I could mark his ball.
Yep, misjudged the break and hit his ball. I then two putted from my lie and double bogeyed with the penalty.
Lesson learned after checking the rules? Anyone can mark another's ball on the green as long as you have permission. Next time I'll yell "Mind if I mark your ball?".