Welcome

My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.

I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.

Sunday, January 22, 2017

1/15/17 - Balboa

Rule 14-4 says that it's a penalty to strike the ball more than once in the course of a stroke.  This happens to me far more often than I would like.  I would really love to see super-slo-mo video to see how the hell I'm doing it.  But I hear and feel the ball hit the club while in flight.

It happened at Balboa last week.  But it was a bit unusual, and I wanted to look it up.  I hit a shot really fat, and on the follow-through, the club hit the ball a second time.  But it was actually the first time.  I hit the stroke so fat that I really didn't make contact with the ball on the initial part of the stroke.  I just chunked a bunch of grass and dirt into the air, and the ball went with it.  And on the follow-through, the club hit the ball.

I took the penalty for double-contact, and I figured the rule would cover that scenario.  It actually doesn't.

The rule I actually broke was rule 19-2 - Ball in Motion Deflected or Stopped.  The penalty is the same (one stroke).

No comments:

Post a Comment