It was a bit damp at Eastlake with all of the rain we have been getting lately. We covered a few things prior to the round with the members:
Casual Water
Bunkers with Casual Water would play as GUR
No lift clean, and place
What we did not cover was rule 25-2 - Embedded ball. It came up on a par 3, when my tee shot was embedded just off the green. We weren't sure what the rule was, so I played two balls. I played the first one as it lies, out of the severely embedded lie. Then I dropped another ball, and played that from a regular lie. I ended up scoring a 5/2 with each ball, so it didn't matter.
The consensus in the clubhouse was that I should have been entitled to relieve. But Rule 25-2 includes the clause "in any closely mown area...." Since my ball was in the rough, off the green, I was not entitled to relief.
A group can adopt a local rule to allow relief in that scenario, but we had not adopted such a rule.
No comments:
Post a Comment