Welcome

My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.

I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.

Sunday, June 24, 2018

6/23/18 - Carmel Mountain Ranch

Carmel Mountain Ranch is closing next month, which is sad.  Maybe that explains why when we got to the 14th tee, there were no blue tee markers.  What to do?  Rule 11-4 says that it's a two stroke penalty to play from outside the teeing ground.  Decision 11-4 says that the correct procedure is to discontinue play until the committee resolves the problem.  No one was behind us, but holding up play for that sort of thing would not be looked upon kindly in Southern California.

Decision 11-4 also indicates that if the players play from their best estimate of where the teeing ground should be (based on the other tee markers), then there is no penalty, if no advantage is gained.  That seems reasonable.

My first thought would be to play from the embedded USGA / SCGA markers, but CMR doesn't have those.

Thursday, June 21, 2018

6/20/18 - Mission Trails

We were playing the blue tees, and I hit the worst tee shot you can imagine on the second hole.  It came to rest up against the forward tee marker.  I was pretty sure that it was a movable obstruction, so that's how I played it.  If Tiger's boulder in Phoenix was a movable obstruction, then this fist-sized rock surely was, right?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xadPSF3H2Wo&feature=youtu.be

Turns out that I was right.  This is covered by Rule 11-2, and Decision 11-2/1.  The tee markers are fixed prior to the first stroke, and movable obstructions thereafter.

In our club, the penalty for not clearing the front tee markers with your drive is ridicule, and playing the remainder of the hole with a pink ball (if available), or playing the remainder of the round with a pink tee (if available).  You've probably heard of worse.

Rule 11 also covers teeing off from the wrong tees.  It's a two-stroke penalty.  So my best round at Torrey Pines North is an 87, not an 85.  Actually, I didn't correct it, so it's a DQ!  :|


Saturday, June 9, 2018

6/9/18 - Arrowood

I referenced Decision 16/5.5 on the course today, as I had done exactly that:

16/5.5 Player Holes Short Putt and Allegedly Removes Ball from Hole Before It Is at Rest

Q.A player strikes a short putt into the hole and removes the ball from the hole. His opponent or a fellow-competitor claims he heard the ball bouncing in the bottom of the hole-liner at the time the player was removing the ball from the hole, and therefore the ball cannot be considered holed in view of the Definition of "Holed" which states: "A ball is holed when it is at rest within the circumference of the hole ...". What is the ruling?

A.The ball is holed. The words "at rest" are in the Definition of "Holed" to make it clear that if a ball falls below the lip and thereafter bounces out, it is not holed.
There are a number of interesting rules / decisions for scenarios like this:

17-4 - Ball Resting Against Flagstick
Basically if your hole-in-one has not fallen below the level of the cup, then it's not hole-in-one yet.  Be very careful when removing the flagstick.  If the ball comes out, then you have to place it on the lip.

16-2/0.5 is really interesting:
16-2/0.5 Ball Overhanging Hole Is Lifted, Cleaned and Replaced; Ball Then Falls into Hole

Q.After an approach shot, a player's ball is overhanging the hole. The player walks up to the hole without unreasonable delay and notices that there is mud on the ball. The player marks the position of the ball and lifts it. He then cleans the ball and replaces it. The ball remains on the lip of the hole for about five seconds and then, as the player is preparing to tap it into the hole, the ball falls into the hole. What is the ruling?

A.Under Rule 16-2, if a ball falls into the hole after it is deemed to be at rest, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke and he shall add a penalty stroke to his score for the hole. In this case, when the player marked the position of the ball it must have been at rest. The ball must be considered to have been at rest when it was replaced; otherwise, it would have to be replaced again (Rule 20-3d).

Accordingly, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke and must add a penalty stroke to his score for the hole.

Of course all of this could change the first of next year....