We were playing the blue tees, and I hit the worst tee shot you can imagine on the second hole. It came to rest up against the forward tee marker. I was pretty sure that it was a movable obstruction, so that's how I played it. If Tiger's boulder in Phoenix was a movable obstruction, then this fist-sized rock surely was, right?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xadPSF3H2Wo&feature=youtu.be
Turns out that I was right. This is covered by Rule 11-2, and Decision 11-2/1. The tee markers are fixed prior to the first stroke, and movable obstructions thereafter.
In our club, the penalty for not clearing the front tee markers with your drive is ridicule, and playing the remainder of the hole with a pink ball (if available), or playing the remainder of the round with a pink tee (if available). You've probably heard of worse.
Rule 11 also covers teeing off from the wrong tees. It's a two-stroke penalty. So my best round at Torrey Pines North is an 87, not an 85. Actually, I didn't correct it, so it's a DQ! :|
No comments:
Post a Comment