16/5.5 Player Holes Short Putt and Allegedly Removes Ball from Hole Before It Is at RestThere are a number of interesting rules / decisions for scenarios like this:
Q.A player strikes a short putt into the hole and removes the ball from the hole. His opponent or a fellow-competitor claims he heard the ball bouncing in the bottom of the hole-liner at the time the player was removing the ball from the hole, and therefore the ball cannot be considered holed in view of the Definition of "Holed" which states: "A ball is holed when it is at rest within the circumference of the hole ...". What is the ruling?
A.The ball is holed. The words "at rest" are in the Definition of "Holed" to make it clear that if a ball falls below the lip and thereafter bounces out, it is not holed.
17-4 - Ball Resting Against Flagstick
Basically if your hole-in-one has not fallen below the level of the cup, then it's not hole-in-one yet. Be very careful when removing the flagstick. If the ball comes out, then you have to place it on the lip.
16-2/0.5 is really interesting:
16-2/0.5 Ball Overhanging Hole Is Lifted, Cleaned and Replaced; Ball Then Falls into Hole
Q.After an approach shot, a player's ball is overhanging the hole. The player walks up to the hole without unreasonable delay and notices that there is mud on the ball. The player marks the position of the ball and lifts it. He then cleans the ball and replaces it. The ball remains on the lip of the hole for about five seconds and then, as the player is preparing to tap it into the hole, the ball falls into the hole. What is the ruling?
A.Under Rule 16-2, if a ball falls into the hole after it is deemed to be at rest, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke and he shall add a penalty stroke to his score for the hole. In this case, when the player marked the position of the ball it must have been at rest. The ball must be considered to have been at rest when it was replaced; otherwise, it would have to be replaced again (Rule 20-3d).
Accordingly, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke and must add a penalty stroke to his score for the hole.
Of course all of this could change the first of next year....
No comments:
Post a Comment