I almost got my first hole-in-one today, but it wouldn't have counted. My tee shot on #8 hit the top of a tree and dropped about a foot from the foot golf hole.
So what's the rule if it had happened? I'm pretty sure that the foot golf hole would play as an immovable obstruction (Rule 24-2). Free relief within one club-length, no closer to the hole.
Welcome
My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.
I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.
Sunday, October 28, 2018
10/20/18 - St. Marks Executive
On a short par 3, I hit my gap wedge, and ended up with a major league embedded ball. The ball was 3/4 below the surface of the green. It was beyond repair. I tried to repair it, but what I ended up with was level grass around where the ball mark was, but there was still a cavern underneath. I couldn't find any rule to cover that.
But....
I placed the ball on top of the highly damaged spot and went to read the putt. While I was reading the putt, the ball moved (due to gravity) a couple of inches. In this situation, Decision 20-4/1 is pretty clear. If the ball moves due to gravity, then the ball must be played from the new position.
So I'm pretty sure that I played within the rules. As far as I can tell, if the ball didn't move, then I would have had to putt it while it was precariously balanced on top of the semi-repaired ball mark.
The embedded ball rule is changing in 2019. Rather than just a closely mown area, you can get relief from a ball embedded in the rough starting in 2019. Our club has played that as a local rule for the last couple of years (not in a hazard, though).
But....
I placed the ball on top of the highly damaged spot and went to read the putt. While I was reading the putt, the ball moved (due to gravity) a couple of inches. In this situation, Decision 20-4/1 is pretty clear. If the ball moves due to gravity, then the ball must be played from the new position.
So I'm pretty sure that I played within the rules. As far as I can tell, if the ball didn't move, then I would have had to putt it while it was precariously balanced on top of the semi-repaired ball mark.
The embedded ball rule is changing in 2019. Rather than just a closely mown area, you can get relief from a ball embedded in the rough starting in 2019. Our club has played that as a local rule for the last couple of years (not in a hazard, though).
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)