Welcome

My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.

I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.

Sunday, October 28, 2018

10/20/18 - St. Marks Executive

On a short par 3, I hit my gap wedge, and ended up with a major league embedded ball.  The ball was 3/4 below the surface of the green.  It was beyond repair.  I tried to repair it, but what I ended up with was level grass around where the ball mark was, but there was still a cavern underneath.  I couldn't find any rule to cover that.

But....

I placed the ball on top of the highly damaged spot and went to read the putt.  While I was reading the putt, the ball moved (due to gravity) a couple of inches.  In this situation, Decision 20-4/1 is pretty clear.  If the ball moves due to gravity, then the ball must be played from the new position.

So I'm pretty sure that I played within the rules.  As far as I can tell, if the ball didn't move, then I would have had to putt it while it was precariously balanced on top of the semi-repaired ball mark.

The embedded ball rule is changing in 2019.  Rather than just a closely mown area, you can get relief from a ball embedded in the rough starting in 2019.  Our club has played that as a local rule for the last couple of years (not in a hazard, though).

No comments:

Post a Comment