Welcome

My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.

I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.

Saturday, November 3, 2018

11/3/2018 - Rancho Bernardo Inn (Club Championship)

We had our Club Championship today.  I was not in contention on the first tee, and was less so with each successive hole.

The greens are pretty speedy at RBI compared to what I'm used to.


On #1, I putted off the green from the back of the green with my third stroke.  The ball was nestled down, but since I was just off the green, so I chose to use my putter again for my fourth stroke.  The ball popped into the air and my putter hit the ball a second time, and it went into the hole.  Per Rule 14-4, that's a one-stroke penalty.  But I wasn't sure if I had to replay it or anything.  Nope.  I scored a 5 on the hole.

Our club offers a prize in each tourney for low putts.  Our rules for that are fair, and probably pretty standard:
  • Putts are counted from your first putt on the green.  So if your putt rolls off the green, then your next shot still counts as a putt (even if you don't use a putter).
  • It does not count as a putt if you use your putter from off the green (if you have not yet been on that green).
The committee decided that the penalty stroke did not count as a putt.  I wasn't in contention for low putts anyway.

Double-contact is not a penalty starting in 2019.

No comments:

Post a Comment