I know it's not a penalty if you're chipping onto the green and hit another ball, and it is a penalty if you are putting and hit another ball on the green. But what if you're putting, and your ball hits a ball that is off of the green? It didn't happen, but it almost happened.
Rule 13 covers the putting green, but I couldn't find anything about ball hitting ball in that rule. I found it in Rule 11, which covers Ball in Motion. Broadly, there is no penalty if your ball hits another ball. There is an Exception to this when both balls are on the putting green prior to the stroke. That is subject to the general penalty (2 strokes in stroke play). So if your ball is on the green, and your putt hits another ball that is off of the green, then there is no penalty. There you have it...
No comments:
Post a Comment