I hit my approach long on #12, and left a big ball mark in the fringe. It wasn't in my line, but a different ball mark in the fringe was. I repaired both without thinking about it, and then realized that I'm not allowed to do that on the fringe. Oops, two bonus strokes.
This is covered by rule #8, which says that you cannot improve your line of play. Rule #13 makes an exception for this on the green. The weird exception is that if one of your playing partners playing after you leaves a ball mark in your way, you can repair it. The damage wasn't present when your ball came to rest, so you can repair it. But if you're not certain which ball mark is yours and which is the other player's, then you can't fix either.
It's nice to fix it after you play your shot for the next group.
No comments:
Post a Comment