The first hole on the Canyon 9 is adjacent to the driving range, and there were a bunch of range balls in the fairway. As a public service, I wanted to send them back to the driving range. Rule #5 says that you can't practice on the course, other than between two holes. So I was taking one-handed swings and sending balls back towards the driving range.
Violation of the practice rule is a two-stroke penalty, but I claim immunity because my intention was to take care of the course (Rule #1.2)
I find it very odd that the USGA.org web site spells it as "practise" in the rules. Clearly the influence from the R&A.
No comments:
Post a Comment