We've covered the two bonus strokes that you get if you are putting, and your ball hits another ball on the putting green (Rule #11.1). What happens if you hit such a crappy putt that your ball hits another ball that is not on the putting green?
It didn't happen, but it crossed my mind as I crushed my ball 8 feet past the hole and down a slope off of the green. But it didn't hit the other ball. And if it had, there is no penalty. Rule 11.1-a explicitly indicates that both balls must be on the putting green when the stroke was made.
Of note - We give out a sleeve of balls for low putts every tourney. By convention, if your first putt is from off of the green, it doesn't count as a putt, even if you use your putter. But if you are on the green, and then putt your ball off of the green, the next stroke counts as a putt, even if you use a wedge. In essence, every shot after your first putt on the green counts as a putt. I would even say that any penalty strokes that occur after your first putt count towards your total putts for that hole.
Thanks for playing....
No comments:
Post a Comment