I was pretty confident that I could get relief when my ball plugged right of the green, and I was sure that I could clean the ball, but I wasn't sure whether I was supposed to drop or place?
I was also not 100% sure if I would get relief in the rough, but I was also in casual water, so I knew I could have relief there.
Rule 16.3 covers an embedded ball, and per 16.3a-1, relief is given in the General area, which includes the rough. It does not include the teeing area, bunkers, penalty areas, or the green. There's a weird exception for embedded ball in sand that is not a bunker. No relief if the grass in the sandy area is not cut to fairway height. I guess that means no relief in a waste area? I can't think of what else that would refer to.
And you can clean the ball. You can't clean the ball if you are just lifting it to see if it is embedded. But once you determine that it is embedded, you can clean it.
And you drop, do not place.
So I did it right. No penalty strokes for me.
No comments:
Post a Comment