Welcome

My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.

I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.

Monday, August 11, 2025

8/11/2025 - Oaks North (North / East)

I got my first hole-in-one today.  Or did I?


If you look closely at the pic, the ball is not resting at the bottom of the hole.  So is this a hole-in-one?

Yes.  Rule #13.2c says that if the ball is resting against the flagstick in the hole and any part of the ball is below the surface of the putting green, then the ball is holed.  It says that if no part of the ball is below the surface of the putting green, then it is not holed.  But I'm not sure how that could happen.  Unless maybe you were using one of those jumbo golf balls?

The old rule was that if you remove the flagstick and it falls in, then it was holed.  If you removed the flagstick and it did not fall in the hole, then you had to play it as it lies (not a HIO).  I jiggled the flagstick and let the ball fall to the bottom of the hole just to make sure.

 

 

 

2 comments:

  1. For completeness:
    Oaks North, North course
    Hole #8
    181 yards
    4-hybrid

    ReplyDelete
  2. Some will say it doesn't count because it was on an executive course.

    ReplyDelete