Welcome

My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.

I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.

Sunday, April 28, 2019

4/28/2019 - Balboa 18

I was introduced to a new term on the course today - "complete relief."  My ball went into a lateral hazard, and I dropped very close to the hazard, such that my ball was in play, but my stance was still in the hazard.  A member of our foursome indicated that I needed to take "complete relief."

As I read the rules, it looks like this applies to an immovable obstruction (2019 rule #16) or a "No Play Zone."  (2019 Rule #17.1e)  That was also a new term to me, but I think it's an area where you are not allowed to play.  You must take relief.  I know The Crossings has environmentally sensitive areas that you are not allowed to play out of.  And I have played other courses where flowers were considered a No Play Zone or Ground Under Repair.

I could have taken more relief (two club-lengths), but I didn't.  So I believe that since I could have played from the hazard, I was allowed to take relief with my stance in the hazard.  In fact, I believe that once my ball came to rest in the relief area (area #3 below), the ball was live, and I had to play it from that spot.

No comments:

Post a Comment