I hit my ball into a fairway bunker, and it came to rest against the rake, which was in the bunker. I didn't think this was a rule that changed for 2019, and it did not, though the number probably did. The current applicable rule is Rule 15-2 - Movable Obstructions. You can remove a movable obstruction with no penalty. If the ball moves, you simply place it in the original position, still with no penalty.
It gets a little messy when the ball won't stay where placed. Per rule 14.2e, you have to place it within the bunker, and you must place it no nearer the hole. So if your ball came to rest against a rake on the back side down-slope of a bunker, and you can't place it anywhere in the bunker that isn't closer to the hole, then you have to play under the new bunker rule (19.3b) and take two penalty strokes. That sucks.
In researching this, I read that the USGA recommends putting rakes outside the bunker to avoid this scenario.
I looked at rule 12 (Bunkers), and there was nothing about this scenario. Rule 14.2 indicates that you must re-create the same lie that you had previously.
The ball didn't move when I removed the rake, but I did hit a really crappy shot out of the bunker. I did manage to make a ~20 ft putt to save par, though.
No comments:
Post a Comment