I played with a novice, and in one beat up fairway, I indicated that she could take relief from Ground Under Repair. And that made me think - Do you get relief only when your ball is in the GUR, or do you get relief for your stance?
This is covered by rule 16.1-a. It clearly indicates that relief is granted if it affects your ball, or your stance. It's the same rule that covers casual water (now called "temporary water"), and an immovable obstruction.
On the putting green, you also get relief for your line. You do not get relief for your line off of the putting green. This means that if there was a wall ten feet in front of you, and between you and the green, you do not get relief. It does not affect your swing or stance.
Relief is not granted out of bounds, or in a penalty area.
Free relief is granted at the nearest point of relief that is no closer to the hole.
No comments:
Post a Comment