I got randomly paired with a member of our club today at Balboa. He's generally one of the better players in the club, but today he was having issues off the tee. On #15, his tee shot hit my golf bag.
So is this a penalty? To whom?
This is covered by Rule #11. It explicitly says no penalty to any player, and play the ball as it lies. Under the old rules (pre-2019), this would have been a penalty. These days, if I hit my own bag (or my own self), there is no penalty, as long as it was not intentional.
My bag wasn't really in the way, but obviously it was sort of in the way. He could have asked me to move it, but no one expected it to be an issue.
No comments:
Post a Comment