Welcome

My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.

I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.

Sunday, November 28, 2021

11/28/2021 - Balboa

This is very similar to the last post (also from Balboa) with a tee shot hitting my golf bag.  Today, I was chipping on 18, and my chip came up short.  It was clearly going to roll back to me, and there was a very good chance that it would hit my putter, which was sitting beside the green.  So I moved my putter out of the way while the ball was in motion.

Rule #11.3 says that you may not move anything that might affect the ball, while the ball is in motion.  But moving a club (or any other equipment) is a specific exception to this rule.  So you can move a club out of the way of the ball.  By the same rule, you can move a ball on the putting green that the ball in motion may hit (thus avoiding breaking rule #11.1, which is two strokes for hitting another ball on the putting green).


No comments:

Post a Comment