Welcome

My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.

I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.

Sunday, February 12, 2023

2/11/2023 - St. Mark

There was a lot of Ground Under Repair (GUR) at St. Mark's this week.  Are you allowed to clean your ball when taking relief from GUR?  I wasn't sure, so I didn't.

GUR is considered an "abnormal course condition," and that is covered by Rule #16.  Embedded ball is also covered by Rule #16.  The "Embedded Ball" portion of the rule (16.2) explicitly says that you can clean the ball, but the "General Area" portion of the rule (16.1) does not.  This implies that you can't clean the ball when taking relief from GUR.  But carefully reading 16.1b says that "the player may take free relief by dropping the original ball or another ball..."  If you can drop a different ball, then you could choose a clean one, so my interpretation is that you can clean your ball in this scenario.

No comments:

Post a Comment