I heard an interpretation that I had never heard today. We were discussing cleaning your ball, and one player indicated that cleaning your ball by wiping away the mud using the putting surface considered testing the surface, and thus is a violation of Rule #13.1e. I was stunned, and I had to look it up.
Turns out that wiping the mud off of your ball on the putting green is an explicit exception for Rule #13.1e, along with whacking another player's ball back to him in conceding a putt. You conceivably could learn something about the break when doing that, but that is (presumably) not the intention.
No comments:
Post a Comment