Welcome

My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.

I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.

Sunday, February 19, 2023

2/19/2022 - Balboa

As I was hitting my putt on the second green, my ball moved.  I was in the middle of my stroke, so I played it.  Is this a penalty?

Rule #9.1b specifically covers "What to do when ball moves during backswing or stroke."  This section says "if the player caused the ball to move, see Rule #9.4b to find out if there is a penalty."  I don't think I cause it to move.  Certainly not intentionally.  But it looks like I get a two stroke penalty for playing the ball from the wrong place.  That's pretty harsh.


No comments:

Post a Comment